27 Cities under the Phase-III Smart City Mission | Infra Bazaar

27 Cities under the Phase-III Smart City Mission | Infra Bazaar

Posted By:Infra Bazaar

New Delhi: The Urban Development Ministry has released the list of 27 cities under the Phase-III of Smart City Mission yesterday. The Smart Cities will get financial benefits under the Modi-Government flagship Smart City Mission. As per the guidelines under the Smart City Mission, minimum of 40 cities would be listed for the 2016 financial year. The Urban Development Ministry had already announced about 13 cities under the mission on the month of May’2016. The rest of the 27 slots were fulfilled yesterday by the Urban Development Ministry.

Yesterday in Delhi the Union Ministry has released a list of 27 cities that needs to be developed.  According to a report, in these 27 cities list PM’s Narendra Modi constituency Varanasi also listed. Punjab and Uttar Pradesh will get funds immediately for the approved cities that would help set the Urban Reforms fast paced. With these 27 cities, the total no. of smart cities has increased to 60.

27 cities which were selected yesterday are Agra, Ajmer, Amritsar, Aurangabad, Gwalior, Hubli-Dharwad, Jalandhar, Kalyan-Dombivlli, Kanpur, Kohima, Kota, Madurai, Mangaluru, Nagpur, Namchi, Nashik, Rourkela, Salem, Shivamogga, Thane, Thanjavur, Tirupati, Tumakuru, Ujjain, Vadodara, Varanasi and Vellore. Maharashtra acquired the top position in the list which has got 5 smart cities in its kitty. Tamil Nadu, Karnataka were at 2nd place with 4 smart cities, followed by Uttar Pradesh which is at 3rd position with 3 smart cities.

In the January’2016 Mr. Venkaiah Naidu had announced 20 cities and added those cities to the list of the Smart City Mission project. Those cities are getting financially assistance from the Union Ministry to develop the assured power and water supply, sanitation and solid waste management systems, efficient urban mobility and transportation, IT-Connectivity and governance and among others. As per the Smart City Mission the listed cities will get Rs.200cr for the first year and Rs.100cr for the rest of the 3 subsequent financial years. State Governments and respective urban local cities will also contribute for the listed Smart Cities.

Mr. M Venkaiah Naidu said that, “The selected 27 cities are from 12 states, where a total investment of around Rs. 66,883cr has been proposed, with this the investment proposed for the 60 cities (13 were proposed on May’2016 & 20 were proposed on January’2016) under the smart city project is around Rs. 147,679cr”.

The Modi Government wants to transform 100 cities into smart cities by 2019-20. Mr. M Venkaiah Naidu said that, the process of selection of remaining 40 cities would start from January’2017.